• What's New?


  • Officers
  • Ron Powell, President

    Steven M. Powell
    President and UFCW International Vice President

    Steve Powell was elected to serve as the President of Local 881 in 2019. In addition to leading Local 881 as President, he also serves Vice President on the UFCW International Executive Board. Steve began his career in the Labor Movement in 1985 as a Union Representative for Local 881. In 1991, Steve was asked to serve the UFCW International Union in Washington, DC as the Director of Political Affairs. Steve returned to Local 881 in 1995 to serve as the Executive Vice President until he was elected Secretary-Treasurer in 1999. In addition to his duties with the Local and International Union he is also a Trustee for the UFCW Midwest Health Benefits Fund, Chairman of the Indiana Calumet Region Health and Welfare Fund, and Trustee for the UFCW Local 655 Health and Welfare Fund.

  • Paul Schaefer,Secretary-Treasurer

    Paul D. Schaefer
    Secretary-Treasurer and UFCW International Vice President

    Paul Schaefer was elected to serve as the Secretary-Treasurer of Local 881 in 2019. Paul joined the staff in 1989 as a Union Representative in the Local 881 Edwardsville office. In 1996, he was asked to step-up and run the office as an Assistant Field Director and later the Field Director. In addition to his duties with Local 881 he serves as an alternate trustee to both the UFCW Local 655 Welfare Fund in St. Louis and the UFCW Unions and Employers Midwest Health and Pension Fund. Paul is also active in the Labor movement in downstate Illinois serving the AFL-CIO as a Vice President on the Executive Board of the Greater Madison County Federation of Labor and as a delegate to the Southwestern Illinois Central Labor Council.

  • Ron Powell, President

    Patrick D. Statter
    Recorder, Executive Board

    Patrick Statter has been a Union Representative with Local 881 UFCW since 1983. Since 1990, Patrick has served on the Local 881 Executive Board and was appointed in 2001 to serve as the Recorder. Patrick was elected President of the Northeastern Illinois Federation of Labor in 2007; he has been active with the organization since 1984 holding a variety of elected positions including: delegate, trustee, sergeant-at-arms and first vice president. Patrick began working at Jewel in 1979 and was a Union Steward prior to joining the staff of Local 881 UFCW.

  • Executive Board
  • Mary Tapia-Barthel
  • Garland Blakely
  • Kathy Boswell
  • Clint Brown
  • Lisa Catanzaro
  • Michael Crow
  • Jan Dolan
  • Dino Doukas
  • Kathy Eggert
  • Gloria Gonzales
  • Theresa Gratz
  • Cathy Howe
  • Bob Kleich
  • Krystina Kleich
  • Susan Klein
  • Mary Longo
  • Kent Madison
  • Denise Mele-Gironda
  • James Mounce
  • Bill O'Keefe
  • Brad Powell
  • Mamie Pratt
  • Debra Price
  • Teresa Ramirez
  • John Reichling
  • Kathryn Resendiz
  • Mike Roberts
  • Sue Schaar
  • Paul Schaefer
  • Kim Stewart
  • Cathy Tiske
  • Thomas Tyska
  • Kevin West
  • Valerie Wicinski
  • Diane Zabaly
  • Moises Zavala

Organizational Structure

The two top Constitutional Officers are the President and Secretary-Treasurer. They are both involved in every aspect of the Local Union's ongoing work on behalf of the members. Each grievance is personally read and signed by the President and Secretary-Treasurer and no contract is sent to the affected membership for ratification without having been approved by them both.

The President presides over the meetings of the Executive Board and quarterly Local Meetings. In addition, all activities of the Local Union are subject to the final approval of the President. The Secretary-Treasurer serves as the Chief Financial Officer of the Union and oversees the day-to-day operations of the various departments of the Union. The Recorder reports and archives the minutes of each Local Union membership and Executive Board meeting. The Executive Board is comprised of rank-and-file Local 881 members as well as Local Union staff who provide oversight for the decisions and activities of the Local Union. The UFCW International Constitution and the Local 881 By-laws govern the duties of the Executive Board.